A TV Mix Tape

(11 songs I love that I first heard on TV)

Wonderwall by Ryan Adams (The OC)

I heard this cover before I knew about the original song, and so I always preferred the patient, delicate melancholy of this version.

Beautiful World by The Chevin (The Middle)

I loved this song and the scene so much that I took a video of it on my phone. Sue’s laugh as she starts to dance, and the message of the song… beautiful!

Cathedrals by Jump, Little Children (Everwood)
I’ve never heard this song anywhere else besides Everwood. It’s worth a listen.

Still by Seinabo Sey (New Girl)

This plays over such a sweet scene in New Girl (that I don’t want to spoil for my friends who aren’t caught up yet!) and it’s so enchanting, I listen to it all the time.

Heartbeats by Jose Gonzalez (One Tree Hill)

Simple, lovely.

Sway by The Perishers (Veronica Mars)
This song, that appropriately plays during a school dance scene, brought me to other songs by The Perishers that I love just as much.

Life’s a Song by Patrick Park (The OC)

This is the song that plays during the last scene of a show that featured so much new and exciting music, and I’ve always loved this one.

Apologies by Grace Potter and the Nocturnals (One Tree Hill)
I had just started watching One Tree Hill when I heard this song over a super emotional scene during the 5th season, and this is around the time I realized I needed to go back and watch the series from the beginning.

The Funeral by Band of Horses (Kyle XY)

I know the scene this song plays over so well that I can see it in my head every time I hear it. (<3 Josh and Andy, right??)

Forgiven by Deb Talan (Everwood)

Where did I first hear The Weepies? I’m not sure, but I know I first heard this solo Deb Talan song on Everwood, in the background of one of my favorite TV love stories.

Orange Sky by Alexi Murdoch (The OC)

If I could only listen to one song for the rest of my life, it might be Orange Sky. It can be a happy song, a sad song, a contemplative song. It just fits everywhere.

If I were to someday make a list of my favorite musical moments from TV shows, some of the scenes that feature these songs might make the list. But the songs here are ones that I’ve listened to so much outside the context of the shows I heard them on that I wanted to highlight them separately. But I’m really interested in the way music is used in television shows, so I definitely want to explore that more here in the future.

What’s your favorite song that you first heard on TV?
Leave a Reply

